Easy Peasy spa recipe


Who doesn’t love a good scrub? (if you said yes, we need to talk.) Everyone does. But I learned a few months ago, that I don’t need to spend as many dollars as “they” put on their price tags. Every healthy ingredient I need to feel special, is right in my kitchen. (This is true on so many levels!)

And Pinterest has an opulence of great ideas. Follow me on Pinterest here if you like.

I loosely followed this recipe, but I did not want to make quite as much, plus I did not want to cube the scrub. I used about 1/3rd the ingredients, and was done in about 10 minutes. That website has some fun twists to the flavors though. I once also made a Lavender-Vanilla body scrub with pure Croatian Lavender that turned out great. Warning: These scrubs will make your bathing area slippery, so be careful.

What you will need –

1/2 tbsp coconut oil –  Really, coconut oil has so many good qualities. I feed some to Kahlua everyday. It is good for my skin and hair too.It is worth its own google search.

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 to 1/3rd tbsp shredded soap – I used the Trader Joes honey and oatmeal bar soap and grated it like cheese. This turned out perfect for me, because that particular bar sop made my skin really dry. It is also pretty scentless, so I did not enjoy it as it is.

1 tsp maple syrup – I used a local syrup from the Catskills area. I got it at a distillery the fiance and I visited earlier this year. 

All the good stuff!

All the good stuff!

What you do –

1. Heat the shredded soap and coconut oil in the microwave stopping to stir every 10 seconds until the soap melts into the oil. The picture below is before I started heating the mixture.

20150102_181709

2. Add in the sugar and the maple syrup and mix well.

3. Allow to cool and transfer to your favorite container. Mine is an ugly one, but yours need not be. I get the good ones at the World Market for a dollar!

20150102_182605

4. Enjoy.. my gosh my hands feel so exfoliated right now!

Oh by the way, it smelled so good, someone came to see what was cooking!

20150102_182320I bought this whipped butter soap and rose petal soap at Etsy, and now with my scrub, I have my own little spa, and I did not spend insane amounts of money on it! Be sure to visit Fairbubbles on Etsy!

All the good stuff!

All the good stuff!

3 thoughts on “Easy Peasy spa recipe

Leave a Reply

