Joyful Noise: Sense and Sensibility


Today’s daily prompt asks this:

If you were forced to give up one sense, but gain super-sensitivity in another, which senses would you choose?

I say, my sense of smell. I’d give it up. I think in my case, it’s kind of pointless anyway. I can’t think of a time in the last year or so where it’s been useful (and I can’t think beyond a year back anyway!). My nose stud takes up a decent amount of nostril real estate too. Seriously, when I wear it, there is just one barely functional nostril doing all the dirty work.

In a hot humid environment, good olfactory system is not necessarily your best friend anyway! Or when you live with two dogs who believe truly in the saying “Better out than in”. Or when you pass by an Abercrombie store. (No offense to Abercrombie & Fitch.. nah well maybe a little offense ..just for payback’s sake.)

The only times i’d miss it maybe is when my place is on fire which, I hope that never happens and if it does, the smoke alarm better let me know in advance! I admit I’ll also miss smelling the designer fragrances at Macy’s ..  but bigger picture now.. the sense that i’d liked heightened in return for this, is my sixth one – my woman’s intuition – the one that helps me identify serial killers. It’s already pretty good i’d say – I get it from my Mom. I’m glad it didn’t skip a generation. But it’s so useful, I want more. To differentiate the good from the evil. Let’s call it the super woman’s intuition to make things simpler.

I would also like my super woman’s intuition to have a healthy portion of dog sense blended in. Like yesterday, – my Kahlua sat perfectly peacefully under a park bench while millions of people passed by. However, he came out once. And he barked. And it was not pretty. I won’t go into details except I turned into human shield mother and stood between him and the intruding party(he was being provoked, intentionally), and then we left the scene. Midnight went crazy too. But for her, I think it was the voices in her head 🙂

Oh by the way, the title of my post doesn’t really  have anything to do with anything. Nor does it mean anything otherwise. And apart from being just a title, it isn’t anything really.

Midnight is still up for adoption. Comment on here if you are interested in my little foster munchkin!

Image

2 thoughts on “Joyful Noise: Sense and Sensibility

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Senseless | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

