Daily Prompt: Red Pill, Blue Pill, Mild, Medium, Hot and Very Hot


Today’s daily prompt asks this :

If you could get all the nutrition you needed in a day with a pill — no worrying about what to eat, no food preparation — would you do it?

My answer – Hell No! If you think I eat for Nutrition, you don’t know me 🙂

Ok, I usually try and be good about nutrition too and I don’t only eat stuff that will clog my major arteries, and my dog walks me a decent amount so yes, I’m not killing myself by only eating happy.

But come on, I need my cheesecakes, my chocolates, my chocolate cheesecakes, my red wine and my zinfandel along with my broccoli, spinach, mushrooms, grilled meats and fruits.

We have taste buds for a reason! Each person has between 5,000 and 10,000 and I like to think i’m in that 10,000 area (or I’m just greedy for good food, and proud of it). One of my closest friends says, America’s greatest gifts to her are Southern Ice-d Tea and Chicken Wings. I think that’s why we are friends. Do you really think that Red or Blue pills could come close to comparing with Hot, Mild, Very Hot, Caribbean Jerk, Asian Zing, Garlic Parmesan, Teriyaki or Honey BBQ ? I don’t.

And what about cheese ? Let’s not go there because I’m hungry already.

The bottom line is, I will take a pill when my head hurts, or I’m burning up with fever, not to rob myself of the pleasures of good food. I was made to enjoy good food, and my body is made to break down food and process it in a certain way and provide nutrients to my blood.

I don’t think we humans should be so narcissistic as to think we can sum up all the complex bodily processes associated with eating, digesting and absorbing nutrients, in a Red or Blue pill.

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Red Pill, Blue Pill, Mild, Medium, Hot and Very Hot

  1. Pingback: Pills For No Ills | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: Red Pill, Blue Pill: You’ve Got To Be Kidding! | Khana's Web

Leave a Reply

