..From a pile of Stuff


I’ve been thinking about this for a while now, and a post is in order. It’s about my favorite movie – The Devil Wears Prada.

Warning – This post has several quotes from the movie. It’s not like you won’t ‘get’ it if you haven’t watched the film but you will enjoy it more if you have (maybe a couple of hundred times, like me. 🙂 )

I’ve been trying to put my finger on why I like it so much apart from Anne Hatthaway & Meryl Streep, New York, all the labels and all that jazz and then it hit me – it tells us to suck it up, and play the hand that life has dealt us because life doesn’t always go as planned, and we don’t always know better. We don’t always know what we want, we just think we do. Life has a way of making us figure it out for sure. What is more, we don’t know we actually like something, or that we are a certain person until life presents us with a situation, person, job, responsibility that we hadn’t planned upon.

prada

“I’m not going to be in Fashion forever! What’s the point of me changing everything about myself just because I have this job?”

Ok, I agree she doesn’t remain in the fashion world for very long, but that’s because she was turning into someone she did not like. And, “Everybody wants to be Us, Andrea”, is not true.

But I think that just because we think we’re not going to be in that situation for very long, does not mean we don’t imbibe the good things it has to offer, OR that we don’t give it our 110% . And how this movie shows you that “you’re not trying, you’re whining”  is absolutely what makes me watch it as often as I do. That and Emily Blunt’s character.  [“I’m sorry do you have some sort of prior commitment?  Some hideous skirt convention to go to?”]

Among the Chanel, Valentino, Oscar De La Renta, skirts from Calvin Klein and something about a Pony, there is a valuable lesson – every unexpected experience has the potential to teach us something new, something far flung from our comfort zone. And can change us in ways that we never expected. This feeling is very close to my heart since moving to the US for school or work was never my plan. I also never thought I would adopt a puppy! But look at how that all turned out 🙂

I recently read this post which is not exactly along the same lines, but shares the nuance that things don’t often happen the way they were meticulously planned. This is often, a good thing. The author words it in a way that I only hope someday I can come close  to, for describing anything. She says “I wonder how often my carefully crafted plans and lessons and ideas fall on barren ground, and how often some little “thrown away” thought takes root and blooms. “

So even if it’s a  “very difficult job, for which you are totally wrong”, it can teach us a valuable skill, or give us insight into an area that we knew nothing about and had no intention of venturing anywhere close to. And you get to meet people who are passionate about it. Who love what they do and have always wanted to do it!

Ok, I love this film so much that I can quote it word for word and just keep going.

For now,

“That’s all”

5 thoughts on “..From a pile of Stuff

  1. (Whoah, WordPress, you just had a little heart attack on me!)
    What I meant to write was: Ah, how funny! Although I am literally the least fashionable person on earth, I love this movie, too. I love the moral of the story, and I love how the girl learns to appreciate herself and to find her own balance again. And I LOVE Meryl Streep in this.
    Thanks so much for the link back (is that what you call it?).

Leave a Reply

