When does all that sharing, yield no caring ?


This is a slightly grim one. I’m pretty sure I might upset a reader or two, but when you feel the mercury rising, please try and remember, we are on the same side – the one that wants every animal to be in a safe, happy, healthy home and all shelters to be completely, absolutely, one hundred percent empty.

So what am I getting at ? Simply this: How much sharing (on Facebook specifically) is too much sharing when it comes to trying to get people to notice and adopt shelter animals? I know, the right answer should be “You can never share too much. You never know who catches whose eye and whose life changes “. I said this too and I do believe it’s true. However, is there a saturation point your friends reach ? Do you believe that some may have actually blocked your updates simply because they are all the same ? I do. I’ve been teased before by good friends that all my updates are really all just Pupdates. And I know that they haven’t blocked them, because they’re my real friends, and not just my Facebook Friends. And I also believe, that there are others that have blocked my pupdates.

So does “Sharing is Caring” really, actually work? How much is too much before you’re labeled or stereotyped and consequently filtered? Don’t get me wrong, I don’t care about being classified,  filtered, screened, blocked whatever. My point of this rant is this – are people really listening when I share a puppy that’s on death row ? Or is it just another one of ‘Shalini’s dog mania posts..’  ? Am i really reaching out to potential adopters/rescue-ers ?

You know how you have that one really old grand uncle like Uncle Leo from Seinfeld who always seems to tell the same stories? You know how you don’t meet his eye at a family gathering? Or how you’ve planned an escape route for when you do? It’s kind of the same thing. If we as rescue advocates constantly are sharing updates of only this genre and striking conversations only about the same things, and with the same people,  how many people are really listening ? It pains me to think that there is a glass ceiling. It won’t stop me from continuing to share, or continuing to write, or trying to educate, but is there perhaps some way to keep the audience gripped ? To keep their eyes from glazing over as they scroll your timeline or speak to you in person ? Is  there a way to break what they think is a monotony, and what to us is saving the life of a shelter dog ?

I read every dog’s story that a friend shares, or one on a page that I’ve Liked. I really do. And then I want to share it. I eventually end up sharing it because of  the ‘you never know’ factor. Plus, who am I in this gi-normous, complexi-cated universe to decide that my action of sharing won’t yield any useful connections ? Just a tiny spec in the labyrinth of possibility for that animal. But I do think twice. About the monotony of my shares. About the effect, or the lack thereof, it has.

I will keep sharing, in the hope that it is working in some small way or the other. But I wanted to put this out there. I want to see if anyone else feels this way, and I would love to hear from you.

I saw these beautiful animals on the Friends of Wakulla County Facebook page today. And guess what ? I’m gonna share them with you! The pictures are by the wonderful Betsy of Betsy Sasnett Photography. Please contact them if a fur baby grips your heart, or if you can foster. You will be saving not one life, but two. So please, share away!

Image

My name is Casper. I have the most soulful eyes ever, right?

Image

Say what? You’re coming to get me? Ask for Cara!

Image

My name is Justin. You can just see how loving I am. So what are you waiting for?

Image

I’m Wiona and I smile !

Image

I’m Ashley and I’m really little. I’m Wiona’s daughter. We shouldn’t be in a shelter, should we? So email FriendsOfWCAC@gmail.com to come get us!

5 thoughts on “When does all that sharing, yield no caring ?

  1. I definitely feel that way, too! Even if they haven’t flat out blocked me, I believe some people just scroll right past me. I’ve really tried to slow it down since my mother pointed out just how annoying I am. And frankly I’ve gotten irritated when I see other people going on and on about a single issue before, too. That’s why I try to share like, one a day, now. =/

  2. Pingback: For the love of {black} Lab | Thoughts of a Lesser Canine

  3. Pingback: Weekly writing Challenge: Using forms creatively | Thoughts of a Lesser Canine

Leave a Reply

